Homemade Laundry Soap

Homemade Laundry Soap
Standard

Hi everyone! I’m so glad you’ve found your way here. I hope you’ll check out my About Me page and Subscribe for future posts.

So – let’s get right to it. I recently made this homemade gift basket for my cousin’s Housewarming Party and everyone at the party loved it.

I have to admit, I would be thrilled to receive this gift myself. I love the idea of someone spending time on a homemade gift. I made antibacterial all purpose spray, window/glass cleaner, laundry soap, and a jar of brownie mix. (My cousin loves my little sister’s brownie recipe.) I made my own labels for each container, too.

This is the laundry soap recipe I’ve come up with after several adjustments from the original recipe I found and I use it on my own clothes and I think it cleans very well. I even use it on Lucas’ cloth diapers, so this stuff works! I buy everything for this at my local Walmart, so hopefully things will be easy for you to find.

Laundry Soap Recipe

1 Box Borax (76oz)

1 Box Washing Soda (55oz)

1 Large Box Baking Soda (4lbs)

½ tub Sun Oxygen Powder (3lbs)

1 large container Purex Crystals (55oz)

2 bars Zote laundry soap

Shred the Zote using the grater attachment in your food processor. Then run it through the food processor, again, using the regular blade attachment. Mix all of the ingredients in a 5 gallon bucket. Enjoy!

 

I like to use a funnel to fill the Purex bottle back up and keep that on the shelf in the laundry room. On the Purex cap, a regular load is the middle line on the cap and a large/especially dirty load is a full cup. You do not need to use as much of this detergent since it doesn’t have all of the extra fillers that commercial detergents do. Think of it as super concentrated.

Sounds good, but you aren’t sure if it’s worth it? Well here’s the cost breakdown for you. At my local Walmart, all of the ingredients cost $24.26. You will only use half of the Sun, though, so accounting for that, the recipe costs $21.52 and is enough for 326 loads.

Homemade – 6.6 cents/load

Tide Orignal – 17.6 cents/load

Gain Original –   12.4 cents/load

If you wash 10 loads of laundry a week, like we do, you’ll save at least $60 a year.

 

Is that worth it for you? Do you already use homemade laundry soap? I’d love to hear your comments!

 

6 thoughts on “Homemade Laundry Soap

  1. Annie Springer

    Thanks Sara, I am very particular with my whites, I don’t like them dingy. I am going to definitely try this and let you know what I think, I’m pretty sure I will like it. I do alot of tough laundry with two boys. So I am enjoying the idea of saving money doing it! 😉

    Like

  2. Laura

    A friend of mine mentioned making laundry soap & said it seemed to separate after sitting for a day or so. Did you have this problem with yours?

    Like

    • Sara

      I *think* you mean with liquid detergent, right? I’ve never made the liquid, too lazy for all the extra steps, but I have heard it does separate. I did see a recipe the other day for whipped liquid detergent that you blend in a blender when you make it and it apparently doesn’t separate.
      I think my powder version stays mixed pretty well though. Hope that helps!

      Like

Leave a comment