21 Weeks Update

Standard

Good morning/afternoon/night! I’m a little more than halfway through this pregnancy now at 21 weeks!

Baby Girl is still unnamed as of now 😦 But she’s growing big and STRONG! I can feel her roll, punch, kick, curl into a ball. It seems like I feel her every movement. And she’s sooo low. Every movement I feel is way down in my pelvic area. I think the only time I felt those movements with Lucas was when he was closer to his due date and head down, but face up.  I felt his little hands in my pelvic area. It’s been really neat the last couple of days though– at night, she spreads way out across my belly and I can feel feet on one side of my belly above my hip and head/hands on the other side above my other hip.

Here is a belly pic of me at 20 weeks:

20 weeks belly pic

I’ve had some confusing health stuff going on with this pregnancy and haven’t really known what to think of it. Right before we got pregnant, I found out I had some high thyroid levels which pointed to hyperthyroidism. I went to the doctor because I was feeling “funny” and knew that we could end up pregnant at any time so I wanted to make sure I was healthy. In the end, my doctor told me let’s just retest in 6 weeks because an ultrasound on my thyroid looked fine. Well before those 6 weeks, I was in fact pregnant. Fast forward through a bunch of bloodwork, OB appointments, and High Risk OB appointments and then an Endocrinologist appointment 2 weeks ago and those thyroid levels that were originally abnormal (my TSH) is now in the normal range, but I have really high thyroid antibodies. The Endo hasn’t technically diagnosed me with anything but I am on medicine now to lessen our risk of complications and we’re pretty confident, through lots of prayer, that everything will work out just fine in the end. And since I’m not technically “high risk” I’m not driving the 2 hours once a month to see the High Risk OB anymore for them to perform an ultrasound and more bloodwork when I already have an OB and an Endo already doing that, which has relieved some stress for me. All the different appointments stress me out!

Here’s an ultrasound pic from my last appointment at 18 weeks:

18 week ultrasound pic

So anyways, Baby Girl and I have both been healthy according to every health care worker we’ve seen thus far, so pray that that doesn’t change 😉

This pregnancy is so different than Lucas’ though. Before I got pregnant, I was losing weight as a result of the thyroid stuff and I still lost about 3 lbs in the beginning. I’ve not gained any. I think I had probably already gained about 10 lbs with Lucas this far. Of course, I was also overweight to begin with this time and was not last time, so that very well could play into it.

Baby girl is the size of pomegranate now (she was the length of a banana last week). Oh, and no, we haven’t started doing ANYTHING around the house yet. I’m sure I’ll feel some urgency soon and push us along though, right?

Be sure to catch my future posts by:

Following me on Bloglovin

Liking Not Your Mainstream Mama on Facebook

Signing up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

