Month 15-18 of Our Journey to Become Debt Free: March-June 2014

Standard

This post is part of Our Journey to Become Debt Free series. To see the others, please click here.

Money, money, money! Let’s talk finances! Our finances have seen a lot of changes this year.

As you know from this post, I quit my full time job in January and started a part time one in February making around $800-$1000 less per month. And then.. you got no more updates about Our Journey to Become Debt Free. I would love to break down each individual month for you, but since that would several weeks, I’m just going to do it in 2 parts. 😉

If you’ll go back and read our Month 14 – February 2014 post, it may refresh your memory a little.

MONTH 15 – MARCH 2014: March is when the “part time” income really started to affect us. We only paid down $491 that month and $234 is our regularly budgeted amount- so really NOT MUCH. That brought the balance down to $6,765.27.

Through June 2014

MONTH 16-18 – APRIL –JUNE 2014: With a little overspending and a little extra money being put aside for the next baby, we were only about to make the budgeted $234 payments on the Civic each month for these 3 months. In June, the balance was $6,109.84. Even so, we had paid off over $17,000 in 18 months at this point.

Monthly through June 2014

BUT in June, my Etsy shop Aqua Anchor Designs started to pick up and finally started showing a profit! At first, I was really scared to touch the money. I thought it was just a fluke and if I drained it, I’d be pulling from our personal budget the next month. Finally, Clint suggested that I should make a Baby Emergency Fund the shop, just in case I had a bad month or something, so we weren’t pulling money from our personal budget. I’d tell you a little more about that next week.

Things are about to get exciting… but I’ll get you updated from July to November in next week’s post. 😉

Be sure to follow along to my posts by:

Following me on Bloglovin

Liking Not Your Mainstream Mama on Facebook

Signing up for Email udpates

Leave a Reply

