Dutch Baby Recipe

Dutch Baby Recipe
Standard

I love breakfast! I could eat it for breakfast, lunch and dinner most days. I saw mention around the blog world recently of something called a Dutch Baby and was intrigued since I’d never heard of it. Now, this Dutch Baby recipe is our new go to recipe for breakfast.

When I first looked, I found Ruth’s recipe at Living Well Spending Less, but being the researcher that I am, I have to look at several recipes and read reviews on them and make changes before I make something. I know– I have a problem.

Besides, I just love breakfast type foods. But it isn’t exactly a “quick” meal to cook and dirties up a lot of dishes. NOT a Dutch Baby though! This recipe is super simple and the dirty dishes are kept to a minimum. It literally takes 5 minutes to get it into the oven baking.

The first time I made it, I wasn’t sure how Clint would like it. He can be extremely picky with foods, especially bready or mushy stuff. Everyone said this was kind of like French toast so I was a little worried– I don’t even care for French Toast because the middle is always dry or soggy- bleck!

So here are all of the ingredients you will need. I like to get all of mine out beforehand, so my butter doesn’t burn.. which I’ll tell you more about a few steps later. That’s just flour, sugar, cinnamon, eggs vanilla and milk. Oh, and butter which isn’t pictured. By the way- the full recipe will be at the bottom of the post.

Dutch Baby Ingredients

First things first, put your butter into a 10 or 12 inch oven safe skillet. A metal pie dish may work fine too, but we did not have good results with a glass one. Turn the oven on 400 degrees and throw it in. Do not wait for it to preheat. Oh and make sure there are about 6 inches between the rack and the top of the oven, because it will rise. 

Butter in Skillet for Dutch Baby

But, do be sure not to get the butter started until you are ready to get the batter going too. If you don’t make it and dump it in fairly quickly, the butter will burn.

Then, in a medium bowl whisk your eggs, milk, vanilla, cinnamon and sugar together.

Dutch Baby Batter before flour

Once that’s combined, dump in the flour and whisk it until combined and there aren’t anymore dry flour streaks. There will be lumps though.

Dutch Baby Batter after Flour

Then, open the oven and swirl the butter around to cover the bottom of the pan.

Dump the batter into the pan, shut the oven and leave it alone for 18 to 20 minutes. Of course, if it scares you to do this with an open oven, you can just transfer the pan to the stove, dump it in, and throw it back in the oven. Just don’t grab the handle to the skillet with your bare hands like I always do.

Pouring Dutch Baby Batter into Skillet

This is what it will look like when it’s ready to take out. I’ve learned to look through the oven door and look at the edges. Take it out before they turn black. If they’re black- then so is the bottom of your Dutch Baby.

Dutch Baby Right Out of the Oven

 

And it does puff up more than that, it had already fallen a little in that picture. Now, we dust it with a pretty good amount of powdered sugar. Or if you’re Clint a whole bunch of powdered sugar.

Dusting Dutch Baby with Powdered Sugar

And there you have it. Easy as that.

Dutch Baby Ready to EatBy the way, Lucas loves this. He can eat half the pan by himself– if we let him. Lucas Eating Dutch Baby

Clint also loves it, he makes just as big of a mess as Lucas.

Clint's Dutch Baby Powdered Sugar Mess

 

Here’s a printable recipe for you:

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:5]

See, not very hard huh? I do think this have the flavor of French Toast, but not so much the consistency. It’s kind of like a really thick Crepe in consistency. Either way.. it’s delicious. We make at least 2 a week. 🙂

Have you ever heard of a Dutch Baby? What’s your favorite homemade quick and easy breakfast recipe? 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Dutch Baby Recipe

Leave a Reply

