Month 13 of Our Journey to Become Debt Free: January 2014

Month 13 of Our Journey to Become Debt Free January 2014
Standard

This post is part of Our Journey to Become Debt Free series. To see the others, please click here
Hello February! 2013 went quick and 2014 is already flying. January was one of those 3 paycheck months for Clint so it looked very good for our Snowballing efforts. We did a decent job overall though.

Here is where we stand on our monthly Snowball totals:

Monthly Snowball Totals

And here are our debt balances:

Debt Balances through January 2014

As you can see, we paid $1,199.07 on the Civic in January. We’re now at 64% of our debt being paid off. Of course, things will slow down now that my income is only going to be half of what it has been.

We came in at $402.57 for the month in Groceries, which is great at right around our $400 budget. We did go $110 total over in eating out, clothing, entertainment and blow money. We did eat out 5 times though so that blew our Eating Out budget by $50 right there. In my defense, one of the meals would have been $25 less, but we had a gift card/coupon error. The other $60 worth was a new to me jacket that I absolutely needed, a Mickey Mouse chair for Lucas, and my first haircut in 18 months. Of course, I can justify almost ever penny of what we “go over”, but I really can’t do that starting NOW.

Speaking of justifying, our weekend trip came in at $570.90. Not bad for staying 2 nights in one of the highest reviewed bed & breakfasts around us.

Other than that, we’re just trucking along here. I’m pretty anxious about the finances right now, since I am starting my new job today. Going from full time income to part time income is scary. I know that He will provide and things will work out one way or another, but I’m still going to be anxious until I get used to things. We are going to have about $800 less a month in income…scary!

How was January on your finances? Have you started your journey to become debt free yet? Any words of wisdom to share with me about my anxiety over finances? 

 

6 thoughts on “Month 13 of Our Journey to Become Debt Free: January 2014

  1. Y’all are doing great! It takes a lot of discipline to pay down that kind of money. I know that getting a reduced income is scary, but you’ve spent the last year preparing for these kinds of budgets. Take some deep breaths and just keep moving along. You’ll get there!

    Like

  2. Belinda

    Well done – great debt payment progress!! You did really well with your grocery budget for the month. That’s definitely an area that I keep trying to improve on, and want to tweak further.

    Hope that you settle in well in your new job. Once you’ve had a few part-time salary pay-days, I’m sure you’ll get a little less anxious about your finances. You and Clint will find a way to make it all work out well!

    Like

    • Sara Herrin

      Yeah, I really want to cut ours even more. I coupon end a few years ago and did pretty good but the sales just aren’t as good now. Thanks for the encouragement. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

