Freezer Recipe: Pizza Dough

Freezer Recipe Pizza Dough
Standard

Hello ladies! I hope the first half of the week has been treating you well. I’ve got a great recipe for you today that only takes about 15 minutes to put together and can make 4 meals: pizza dough. It can even be frozen– That’s my kinda cooking!

First, I wanted to share some exciting news with you though– I got a new job! I’m extremely excited because it’s part time. I still was not sold on part time or full time so my wonderful husband prayed with me before I went into my interview that I would have peace about whichever was the decision for us and that I would know. I knew! Now I can’t stop being giddy about it. It’s at another bank, but I’ll only be working Monday, Thursday and Friday. I’ll have Tuesdays and every other Wednesday with my little man. Thank you to everyone who gave advice or prayed for me with this decision and hunt!

But back to easy weeknight meals and pizza dough… The only thing you’ll need for this, that you may not already have, is some active dry yeast. To start things off, you’ll need to dissolve the yeast in warm water. The water should be between 105-115 degrees (I do measure it). Then you throw in all of your other ingredients and mix it together.

Pizza Dough Mixed TogetherAt this point, I dump the pizza dough onto my counter that has flour on it to prevent sticking. Knead the dough for about 3 minutes. You can make either 4 pizzas or 2 pizzas with this. Clint likes thinner pizza and I like thicker pizza– we make 4 and are both happy. So either divide the dough in half or in fourths. The ball on the left is 1/4 of the dough and the right is 1/2 of the dough.

Dough After KneadingWhen I make it, we always eat 1 pizza then and freeze the other 3. To go ahead and bake the one, I just roll it out with a rolling pin to try and get as close to a circle shape as possible and pinch the sides over a little. I put mine on parchment paper and cook it on a preheated pizza stone. If you don’t have a pizza stone a greased baking sheet will do the trick. Don’t try to put your toppings on until it’s in/on where ever you are baking it. I’m not sure of how much of anything I use to top our Pepperoni Pizza. It’s probably around 2 tablespoons of pizza sauce but I have no idea how much mozzarella cheese we use. Just top it with whatever you’d like. We bake ours anywhere from 12-15 minutes.

Pizza Dough Mixed TogetherTo freeze the pizza dough, just put each ball of dough into quart sized freezer Ziploc bags (I like Hefty bags, but you get the point). When I do freezer recipes I like to put detailed instructions on the bag so Clint or my little sister can easily cook whatever it is without me giving a million instructions.

Pizza Dough for FreezerI didn’t write so many instructions last time, but the last pizza we had out of the lot wasn’t very good. I’m not sure if it’s because it wasn’t taken out of the bag so it didn’t actually rise or if it were past the 4-6 week period and just wasn’t as fresh. Either way, I’m writing all of these instructions from now on.

Of course, this is a little more work up front than a $5 pizza from the pizza place, but I think it’s better and cheaper. But there ya have it.. 4 meals for the time of 1. 🙂 A printable version of the recipe is at the bottom of this post.

Do you ever make homemade pizza dough? What toppings does your family like one their pizzas? 

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:4]

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Freezer Recipe: Pizza Dough

  1. Belinda

    Congratulations on your new job!!!!!!! That’s wonderful news.

    I’ll file away your pizza dough recipe, as I love being able to make a few meals at the same time. Once we’ve finished paying off our debts this year, we’ll be saving up for a larger freezer.

    I’m so looking forward to that day…having the debt paid off…. and having a new freezer, so that I can get started on some batch / freezer cooking!

    Like

    • Sara Herrin

      Thank you Belinda. We don’t always do things in order I suppose.. I told Clint I wanted a freezer now! Of course, I do believe it helps save money because I can stock up on meat sales and do more freezer cooking.

      Like

Leave a Reply

