Month 10 of Our Journey to Become Debt Free: October 2013

Standard

This is the 11th post in Our Journey to Become Debt Free. To read the others, click here.

Oh October! October was a very spendy-rific month. You get to the end of the year and just lose sight, I guess. We are inching closer and closer to becoming debt free though, so I just need to look at it that way. 🙂

Here is where we stood at the end of September:

Totals as of October 2013

And here are our monthly snowball totals:

Monthly through September 2013

 

Let’s start with groceries, they were a whopping $769.63. Maybe it was another of those months where we ran out of everything? I really don’t know why but that’s crazy high. I do know that October is the month that Lucas stopped nursing. {insert Mama tears here} He seemed less and less interested and got more and more teeth and it would take some adjusting for him to get used to the new teeth when hey started to come through. Then, he got sick over and over again and he bit me two days in a row and then just wouldn’t latch anymore. It was really bittersweet. I hadn’t gotten to that, “I want my body back” phase. I still enjoyed the closeness tremendously and having him slow down long enough to snuggle and nurse. Now he’s too busy to slow down for anything. Haha!

My point is, I think that could have brought the groceries up a tad because we started weaning him to whole milk and buying a few more grocery items for him. Not $370 worth though.

October was the month that Lucas was sick several times so we had a couple of co-pays and prescription costs and then at the end of October he was hospitalized overnight for Croup. I got worried about the hospital bill and how much it would be, so I didn’t snowball at the the end the month whatever was left like I normally do.

Which means, we only made an extra $137.50 on top of regular monthly payments for our Snowball. We carried over $430.53 to November though.

That’s it folks! Only 2 more weeks left and then we will be caught up and you’ll get to see if we are going to actually be able to pay off the CR-V by the end of the year. The rest of the year has a lot of spending going on so I’m hoping and praying. Be sure to check back next week for November’s post 😉

Oh, and don’t forgot to like me on Facebook or Subscribe for future posts.

How are your holiday preparations going? Is everything ready for Christmas at your house?

 

Linked up at Living Well Spending Less’ Thrifty Thursday.

5 thoughts on “Month 10 of Our Journey to Become Debt Free: October 2013

  1. Kim M

    I just found your site this morning through Living Well Spending Less, and have been catching up on your journey the past year. Its got to be so exciting for you, getting close to 2/3 the way through! Your posts are very inspiring! My husband and I are roughly in the same position you were in last year, almost $30,000 in debt! We got so far behind on so many things in the past 2 years since our daughter was born, we’re ALMOST catching up. I’m hoping to start building up the BEF in January and starting our own journey. Its so reassuring to know that other people are in the same boat but have made it through. I’ve been listening to Dave Ramsey for years, but fell off the wagon a few years back. I’ll be following your posts to see how you guys are doing. Keep up the good work!!

    Like

    • Sara Herrin

      Great! I love it when people tell me we insipire them. 🙂 In this process, you have to remember that you NEED to Live Like No One Else Now, So You Can Live Like No One Else Later. You certainly can’t try to keep up with the Joneses and pay off debt. The Joneses would not approve of my almost 15 year old vehicle that doesn’t have a back up camera.
      But hopefully, you can see from our lifestyle that we are just a typical middle income family–living like we’re broke. You can do it Kim! I can’t WAIT to hear updates!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

