To Santa or Not to Santa?

Santa Picture 2013
Standard

I don’t want a heated debate with anyone and I don’t want any rude comments, but I am seriously considering Not to Santa. Originally, Clint and I discussed it before kids and both agreed that we didn’t see anything wrong with our children believing in Santa. Now that I actually have a child, I think about things a lot differently, though.

Actually, until I read an old friend’s Facebook post about why she chose not to teach her children about Santa, I hadn’t even thought twice about that particular subject. She made very valid points though, and when I shared those with Clint, he almost agreed. Then, I guess he went back to reality and said he didn’t think there was anything wrong with Santa.

I’m not thinking that there is anything “wrong” with Santa, I would just rather focus more on other things I suppose. Like, I don’t like the idea that Santa brings all the biggest, baddest, coolest gifts. Mommy and Daddy worked hard for those gifts and instead of getting any Thanks out of it, it’s all going to some imaginary guy. Clint says that’s selfish, but I still feel that way.

Also, I know as a child that Santa’s existence was always a hot topic on the school playground. If we let Lucas believe in Santa Claus, he may start questioning his existence because he hears other kids questioning it. And then, what if that leads him to question Jesus’ existence. That seems like a logical tie-in in a child’s brain to me.

Not only those two things though, but Christmas has become so commercialized. I don’t want that for our family. I guess since we’ve started on our debt-free journey, all the overspending I see associated with the holidays really disturbs me more too.

I can only hope that Lucas will be a thankful little kid like Clint was. Clint got everything he ever asked for but still appreciated every single thing. I got most everything I wanted, and still wanted more. I still have a hard time working against my selfishness now.

Maybe I’m reaching here, but I just want to protect and facilitate his salvation and appreciative personality traits to the best of my ability and in every single way possible.

I think Clint and I have decided to sort of split the decision down the middle, but haven’t made any definite decisions yet. We agreed to wait until next year to really decide, since he won’t remember this Christmas anyhow. I *think* we will probably tone down the commercial aspect of Christmas every year and do our best to teach the message of Christmas as a Christian one.

Like I said, these are only my opinions. If you celebrate Santa or even a Leprechaun or Bunny Rabbit on Christmas, those are your parenting choices.

Do any of you have similar views? Do you teach your children believe in Santa? Are there any traditions in your family that would make Christmas and Santa easier to not be so commercialized and more of a Christian celebration?

12 thoughts on “To Santa or Not to Santa?

  1. Teresa

    When I was young, Santa filled stockings with small gifts – useful things, stationery, small toys, chocolate coins. All my big presents were from my family, and labeled as such. It was as nice way of “playing the santa game” without making it a central tenet.

    Santa still brings stockings, and now I’m 25! ; )

    Like

  2. I understand your hesitation – especially with the huge emphasis on the commercial aspect that Christmas has become – but I think that Santa symbolizes the LOVE that people have in their hearts at this time of the year. I love the picture that is going around on Facebook now – Santa kneeling at the manager – there is also a letter on Pinterest (I think) that explains how the real story of Christmas and Santa come together. I would never impose my beliefs on you and your family, it’s a decision that you and your husband have to make for your child, but I’m certainly glad that my daughter and husband have decided to include Santa in the celebration for my two grand daughters (18 months and one coming on this Wednesday 12/11). Here is a link to a Christian article that incorporates Jesus and Santa if you would like to read it ( http://www.christianitytoday.com/women/2011/december/why-santa-belongs-in-your-kids-christmas.html?start=1 ) but in the end it is your decision what you teach your child/ren.

    Like

  3. I have not embraced the typical Santa mentality. My kids (5, 4, 2) know about Santa (thanks to friends), but we do not write letters to Santa or go sit on his lap to ask for things. They know that Christmas is not about a wishlist.

    Our gifts have always been modest and often handmade or from the thrift store. Usually we have one unwrapped present that is from Santa (last year it was bikes from the thrift store that we fixed up) and the rest are from Mom and Dad. I’m glad we have kept things simple rather than set a crazy precedent with outrageous spending that we couldn’t keep up with.

    Another thing that helps is that we don’t have a TV. Our kids aren’t seeing Santa all over the place and don’t see tons of commercials about all the things they “should” want.

    Thankfully you have some time to figure out how you want to handle things since Lucas is still young… but not too young to enjoy ripping up some wrapping paper and playing with some new toys πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Sara Herrin

      That sounds great to me. We have TVs, but no cable. We only do DVDs, Netflix, and Hulu so gladly he won’t be seeing all of the commercials for every toy imaginable. Yeah, I do have time, that’s why I told Hubby we’d just decide next year. We’re both giddy about Christmas morning and seeing Lucas’ reaction for sure, though!

      Like

  4. Jane

    We took a different path with Santa. I believe Santa represents the kind and giving spirit of Christmas. In our home Santa brought one big gift (never wrapped) for each child and stockings. When the kids started questioning the existence of Santa, I always told them that they had to “believe to receive” and never discussed it any further. Even though our baby is 24 years old, Santa still stops at our home at Christmastime πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Sara Herrin

      Yeah, that would be a good way to go about it. Maybe I’m thinking kids are more inquisitive than they are. I just can’t imagine my mom saying believe to receive when I was little and me saying “Okay” haha! Thanks for sharing!

      Like

  5. This is a popular topic among parents during this time of year. I grew up believing and was devastated when I found out the truth. I didn’t like the fact that I had been lied to. I met my husband who grew up not believing in Santa. We decided to tell the truth to our kids, however, we have made our own family tradition that includes us reading about who St.Nick was. I wrote about my experience here: http://www.homelifewithmrsb.com/to-santa-or-not-to-santa-that-is-the-question/

    Merry Christmas!!

    Like

    • Sara Herrin

      Yeah, we still haven’t made our minds up but it’s crazy to me how many people don’t even consider whether or not to teach it.. they just do. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  6. My son is almost 10, and I think that teaching him Santa is imaginary was a great decision. Teaching him to be polite to those who believe was a little more complicated, but it’s worked out fine. We plan to handle Santa the same way with his baby sister.

    I think the best way to avoid Christmas being too materialistic is to involve kids in choosing/making gifts for others, both people they love and people in need. When I was young we would choose a star from a tree at the YWCA that had the gift requests of a needy family, and select and wrap the gifts. I always felt inspired to be generous with those strangers because of the idea that these might be the only gifts they got.

    Like

Leave a Reply

