Battling Mom Guilt

Battling Mom Guilt
Standard

We all wanna be good Mamas, in fact, we want to be the absolute best! And we think we’re doing okay and then BAM! MOM GUILT! I had one of those moments this weekend.

Clint had gone to the gym and Lucas and I were home alone. Lucas was in the Living Room wreaking havoc and I was folding laundry in the Laundry Room. I walked through with some clothes to put up and he whined and wanted me to pick him up. That made me wonder what time it was and how much longer it would be before he was ready for bed, so I could get some stuff done around the house. I feel mom guilt just admitting that to y’all.

I went and hung the clothes up and the guilt hit me. What is so important in this house that I can’t sit down and play with him for a little while? Then, I had another thought. Here I am wanting to be a SAHM and homeschooling him once he reaches school age, but I barely spend any time teaching him new things now. Clint or Clint’s parents generally teach Lucas new things. I’m usually running around the house doing dishes, cleaning, or cooking dinner while Clint is playing with Lucas. Isn’t that terrible?

I have to change this. Lucas isn’t going to remember whether or not the house was clean and we had a home-cooked meal every night, he’s going to remember the time that Mama spent with him. I can’t wait until I’m able to stay home, if it ever happens, to spend time with my child.

A Child Needs a Mother quote

Okay, sorry, the pity party has <ended>. I have been getting up an hour earlier in the mornings to work on blog stuff, which I plan to continue doing. Starting this week, I’m getting back into meal planning and freezer cooking (post on both of those in the works) so dinner will not be so hectic and take so long. Once we eat dinner and clean up, I am going to spend time with Lucas until he goes to bed. That will leave me with an hour or two to try and get household things done. If things don’t get done, then they don’t get done. My relationship with my child is more important than laundry anyhow.

Do you ever feel like you spend enough time with your child(ren)? What are things you specifically do to ensure you spend enough quality time with them? Or, let’s make a commitment to our families and hold each other accountable. Are you in?

13 thoughts on “Battling Mom Guilt

  1. Oh I totally agree with you on this. So many days go by that I feel like I don’t get to spend real time with my kids because it’s always get the laundry done, get food on the table, pick up the house, etc. But does the guilt really end? If the stuff doesn’t get done, do you feel guilty for letting it slide? That’s what gets me all messed up. Anyway, good for you for straightening things out…and let us know all the fun stuff you’re doing with your kids!

    Like

    • Sara Herrin

      You are exactly right. Right now the kitchen is a WRECK! And I feel bad about it. I don’t feel guilt for that though, just annoyance. lol The counters and kitchen table probably won’t remember it tomorrow though 😉

      Like

  2. Gary Keyes

    Sara , just reading this makes a guilt feeling in me. You and your sister have had so many birthdays and holidays where I was gone. Being away now just makes me want to be home that much more … You are are a great mother and I know that you have a husband and son that love you dearly.
    I love you so much and am proud of the woman you have become. You have a strong Christian based home that me as a father couldn’t be any more happy. I just want you to know that I love you and am waiting for the next chapter of your happiness. I love you all 3 …
    Dad

    Like

    • Sara Herrin

      I’m sure you’re right. I am trying. We went to the park Monday, since we were off work for Veteran’s Day and I stopped in the dollar store last night after I picked him up from daycare to pick up a few things and we went down the toy aisle and played with everything. 🙂 It’s the little things right?

      Like

  3. I love your honesty and want to say….you are totally not alone! I am a full-time working mom with a part-time startup business on the side and let me tell you…..my kids are constantly getting the brunt of my exhaustion. It is so important to disconnect for a bit, sit down, and truly soak up these moments with the little ones. That being said, don’t get too down on yourself for not always making your little man the number one priority. His years will fly by even if you spend every single minute with him. Just do the best you can ~ which from what I can tell, is a really great job!! 🙂

    Like

    • Sara Herrin

      It is difficult Jen.. and I only have one. I suppose you’re right though.. I’ll “miss” time with him even if I spend all my time with him. They grow up so fast! Thanks!

      Like

  4. I know exactly what you mean! I have 3 children, ages 6, 3 and 10 months. I’ve struggled with this for a long time, and still do. I wish I had a magical answer, but none has ever come to me. I do the best that I can and realize that it’s all I can do. You’re right though, children won’t be little forever and they won’t remember whether or not the house was clean or if all the laundry was done. GREAT post!

    Visiting from SITS.

    Like

    • Sara Herrin

      I think that’s what we should all remember.. do the best we can do and realize that’s all we can do. I just repeat that to myself-often. Thanks for stopping by Amber!

      Like

Leave a Reply

