DiY Chalkboard Refrigerator

DiY Chalkboard Refrigerator Feature
Standard

I love love love Chalkboard Paint! Now, instead of cluttering up the refrigerator with grocery lists and reminders for this and that, I can just write it straight on our DiY’ed Chalkboard Refrigerator. Amazing!

I’ve heard that Chalkboard Paint can be pretty expensive though, so I decided to DiY it. I already had black paint anyway, which is the color I wanted to paint the fridge. All you need are paint and Non-Sanded Grout. I’ve been told that it HAS to be Non-Sanded, so pay attention when you’re buying it. I think this container was around $5, but it will go a long way. You only need 2 Tablespoons of grout for every cup of paint.

Non-Sanded Grout Chalkboard Paint

This is how I did mine, although if I were to do it again, I’d change a few things. I’ll include those notes towards the bottom of the post.

Refrigerator Before CHalkboard Paint

 First, I had Clint take the handle off of the fridge for me. Then, I cleaned the entire area that I would be painting, really good. Then, I sanded it with an orbital hand sander with fine grit sandpaper. I was just trying to rough it up to make sure the paint would stick.

Sanded Refrigerator for Chalkboard Paint

Next, I taped off all of the stuff I didn’t want painted. Then, I rolled the paint on. I used a small foam roller. It went on really easy, sort of too easy. The roller would slide to the sides through the paint if I didn’t pay close attention. The first coat chalkboard paint looks really bad. Don’t get scared like I did. I let that dry for about an hour (probably should’ve waited longer) and did a second coat.

Second Coat of Chalkboard Paint Going On

It still wasn’t perfect, so I came back and did a third coat.

I got caught up with life and didn’t get back around to the fridge for a few weeks. So it had a while to cure waiting on me. Before we used it, we rubbed chalk all over it and let it sit for a day. Then I used a damp rag to wipe it of. It isn’t going to wipe super clean like the chalkboards in Elementary School, but that’s part of the look, in my opinion.

DiY Chalkboard Refrigerator Finished

THE MISTAKES I MADE:

 

First of all, when I make up another batch of the paint I’m going to sift the grout. The grout chunks up like flour would and the chunks stayed in the paint even once it was rolled on. If you wiped your hand across the surface they would break down and peel the paint.

Secondly, I will prime the entire surface and sand a little better. The paint is staying on relatively well now that it has had a week or two to harden up, but at first it would come off pretty easily. Just to be safe, I would prime the surface first. I will probably be redoing mine shortly, with primer. This is why:

Peeling DiY Chalkboard Refrigerator Paint

Paint around logos or handles or whatever else first and then pull off the painter’s tape I guess. Our painters tape pulled paint off, which was still wet, from around the logo. I had to go back and fill it in with a small paintbrush.

Peeling Chalkboard Paint on Refrigerator

 

TIPS TO REMEMBER WHEN USING DIY CHALKBOARD PAINT:

 

A little bit went a very long way on this fridge.

The first coat is always going to look horrible.

Sift the grout.

Sand with fine grit sandpaper between coats, if needed.

Leftovers can be saved in a mason or other airtight jar.

Do not use chalk pens. You should only use real pieces of chalk on DiY Chalkboard Paint.

Use a damp rag to wipe off chalk.

Have you ever used Chalkboard Paint, DiY’ed or store bought? What projects will you/have you done with it? 

Linked up:

Thank you so much to Jennifer Blissfully Ever After for featuring me!

14 thoughts on “DiY Chalkboard Refrigerator

  1. That’s a great job despite the little things here and there!
    I love doing different things in an home..although I rarely get to do them for clients because clients can be a little scared so I do them for my home and when they see it -they ask for it because it saves a ton of money.

    Check out this kitchen redesign I did in my home:
    http://www.kgstyleblogs.com/2012/11/quick-and-easy-ways-for-kitchen-redesign.html

    Stopping by from #sitssharefest

    Keep itTouched,
    KG

    Like

    • Sara Herrin

      Ya know, it’s funny, I really wasn’t even that worried about it. I bought the fridge used a few months ago and didn’t pay a fortune for it or anything. I just thought, eh, it can be fixed.

      Like

    • Sara Herrin

      Do it!! Lucas only wants to eat the chalk right now, but I’m hoping that eventually it will become a wonderful Cooking Dinner Distraction for the kiddo. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  2. I have seen this fun idea before and I have been contemplating painting my fridge chalkboard, but I am SO nervous about it. However, I think I’m going to take the plunge because it is just too cute and adds a ton of fun to the kitchen. Thank you for linking up to Thrifty Thursday.

    Like

Leave a Reply

