Easy Weeknight Shepherd’s Pie

Standard

There is never enough time in the day. I complain, way too often- I’m sure, about being so busy. My weekdays look like this: I sleep as late as possible because I stayed up so late the night before trying to finish things up and then rush to get myself and Lucas ready. When I get off of work, I rush to get Lucas from daycare, go home and rush to get dinner cooked while trying to actually spend a little time with Lucas and Clint. Then we eat dinner together, Clint or I give Lucas a bath while the other cleans up from dinner. Usually, it’s now 8 p.m. and time for Lucas to go to sleep. See I told you, no time.

All that to say– I love quick and easy dinners. Shepherd’s Pie is one of my go to meals. It’s easy and yummy! My little sister was coming over the other night to visit. When she comes I try to cook something that everyone will like and all of us love this Shepherd’s Pie. Besides, we usually make some sort of dessert after dinner, so I wanted to make sure we had time for that. #priorities

Without any distractions (ha!), this probably takes me 20 minutes to throw together and then it’s another 20 in the oven. First things first, I peel about 2 or 3 potatoes, cut them up, and get them on the stove to boil.

potatoes

Once the potatoes are going, I toss a pound of ground beef and a diced onion in a pan to start browning. When the meat is browned, it gets drained and I stir in some flour to coat it. Then, I add ketchup, beef broth, and Worcestershire. The potatoes are normally finished by now, so I leave the meat to simmer and drain the potatoes. I add some butter to the potatoes and mash them. You don’t add so much butter that they’re creamy though, you want them a little stiffer than normal mashed potatoes. Then they get some cheese mixed in. Now it’s time to start layering – I told you, it’s easy!

First, the meat mixture goes in.

Shepherd's Pie Meat

Then, add some vegetables. I often do corn and one other thing. I had a can of green beans, so that’s what got added this time. Peas are our norm.

Shepherd's Pie Veggies

Then you spoon on the mashed potatoes, top with some cheese, and throw it in the oven. Easy peasy!

(Somehow I didn’t get a finished photo. I guess we were all too busy scarfing this down to even think about it.)

I made an extra one this time to throw in the freezer too, so it went straight to the freezer instead of the oven. This will save me even more time one night. Yay! When I’m ready to cook it, I’ll toss it in the oven from the freezer and cook it a little longer than normal.

Shepherd's Pie Freezer

Oh and the dessert we made was MadeFromPinterest.net’s Buckeye Brownies, except we made homemade brownies for the bottom. These were very rich but absolutely delicious!

Buckeye Brownies

 

Easy Weeknight Shepherd’s Pie

2-3 large potatoes

2 tbsp butter

1/2 cup shredded Cheddar Cheese, plus more for topping

1 onion, chopped

1 lb ground beef

2 tbsp all-purpose flour

1 tbsp ketchup

2 tbsp Worcestershire

3/4 cup beef broth

Canned or Frozen Vegetables of your choice (Corn, Peas, Green Beans, etc.)

Preheat the oven to 375°. Peel and dice potatoes. Place in a pot with enough water to cover and boil.

Add ground beef and onion to large frying pan and cook until the beef is browned. Pour off the fat, then stir in the flour. Once the meat is coated in the flour, add ketchup, Worcestershire, and beef broth. Let that simmer while you finish the potatoes. The potatoes should be tender, but not falling apart. Once you drain the water, add 2 tbsp butter and mash with a large spoon or potato masher. Now, add 1/2 cup cheese and mix in.

Spread the meat in the bottom of a 2 quart casserole dish. Next, layer frozen or canned vegetables of your choice on top of the meat. Top with the mashed potato mixture and sprinkle a handful of cheddar cheese on top.

Bake* for 20 minutes or until cheese is melted and/or the mashed potatoes are golden brown.

*If you plan to freeze, do not bake it now. Cover with plastic wrap and tin foil and write the instructions: Remove tin foil and plastic wrap and bake at 375° for 40 minutes, or until cheese is melted and/or top is golden brown.

What’s your quick and easy go to meal on a weeknight? Have you made my Shepherd’s Pie yet?

Don’t forget to Subscribe to future posts! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Easy Weeknight Shepherd’s Pie

  1. This is the closest I’ve found to my families recipe that my Dad made when I was a little girl. It’s so funny how many different variations there are to this very traditional dish. I love that you made extra for the freezer…I definitely understand busy weeknights. I look forward to making comfort food again now that there’s a chill in the air! Thanks for posting this hearty family favorite!

    Like

    • Sara

      Yes, I’ve been loving the cold front that has moved in here. It was 55 degrees this morning. 🙂 I love comfort foods as much as the cool weather. I looked and looked for a recipe that had exactly everything I wanted and then just sort of winged it and made this one. We tweaked it a little the first couple of times we made it, and now we think it’s pretty perfect. Thanks for stopping by- and for the Twitter mention!

      Like

Leave a Reply

